Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, Gilbert! I think you might enjoy reading a newspaper article related to your question. The article is titled "A Rule Which Will Live in Infamy" and was written by renowned grammarian Geoffrey Pullum.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .