Thanks, Gustavo. It seems that my inability to put across my real question is something I must attend to before I end up embarking on the wasteful journey of frittering away your or somebody else's precious time.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .