Although both are possible, backshifting (i.e. replacing the present with the past) continues to be more elegant than keeping the present, as it takes us back to that moment when the question was asked.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .